American Airlines to cancel 27 flight routes, hardest hit New York airports – NBC New York (47)

NEW YORK — American Airlines announced the cancellation of 27 flight routes starting in January to strategically manage its network by 2022, with New York airports bearing the brunt.

The airline will eliminate 27 different routes, both domestic and international. Of these, 18 depart or arrive at John F. Kennedy International Airport or LaGuardia Airport. The other nine routes include service to Canada and some of the airline’s domestic services from Boston, Chicago, Philadelphia, Charlotte and North Carolina.

“Over the weekend, American optimized its flight schedule to better connect customers to the destinations that matter most to them,” airline spokesman Brian Metham said in an email.

“Part of this process has resulted in the liquidation of a handful of routes, including our dedicated shuttle service. We are proactively reaching out to customers affected by these changes to offer alternative travel arrangements,” it said. -he adds.

Routes that will be canceled include JFK to San Antonio, a change that will take effect Jan. 4, as well as JFK to Costa Rica, Montreal and Toronto.

From LaGuardia, the airline will cut summer and spring flights to Nantucket, Martha’s Vineyard, Myrtle Beach, Asheville, Savannah, Pensacola and Traverse City. Additionally, American Airlines will cease service to several destinations from LaGuardia, including Boston, Charleston, Orlando and Philadelphia.

Flight attendants could triple their vacation travel allowance if they have perfect attendance.

Beyond New York, the airline will cancel routes from Charlotte to Toledo, Chicago O’Hare International Airport to Charlottesville, Philadelphia to Baltimore/Washington and Phoenix to Vancouver.

The decision to cancel the routes comes after the airline launched a new class of cabin service, called Main Select. Under the program, fares are refundable, it offers free same-day flight changes and allows passengers to choose any available seat in the main cabin (including those with more legroom and free drinks).

The new fare class will only be available on certain routes, such as those passing through New York, Chicago or Los Angeles.

Last week, the airline announced it was strengthening its partnership with Northeast Alliance JetBlue Airways despite a lawsuit filed by the Department of Justice in September. The agency says the alliance violates antitrust laws and will negatively affect customers and competition. However, both carriers have ramped up operations outside the Northeast since July 2020, and even with American’s cancellation of routes, the JetBlue alliance still offers a wide range of routes.

JetBlue is preparing to operate 10 of the 18 routes canceled by American from New York, according to Cirium.

American argues demand for flights has remained too low since it capped operations in June 2020, prompting the airline to suspend service indefinitely.

The following five routes will be canceled from JFK in January and subsequent months:

  • San Antonio, until January 4
  • Montreal, until January 4
  • Toronto, until January 4
  • Liberia, Costa Rica, until April 5
  • San José, Costa Rica, until April 5

The following 13 routes will be canceled from LaGuardia:

  • Bangor, Maine, until January 4
  • Boston, until January 4
  • Charleston, South Carolina, until January 4
  • Orlando, Florida, until January 4
  • Philadelphia, until January 4
  • Portland, Maine, until January 4
  • Asheville, North Carolina, until March 27
  • Pensacola, Florida, through May 5
  • Myrtle Beach, SC, through June 2
  • Traverse City, Michigan, through June 2
  • Savannah, Georgia, through June 3
  • Martha’s Vineyard, Massachusetts, through June 17
  • Nantucket, Massachusetts, until June 17

The following nine routes will also be cancelled:

  • Boston at Raleigh-Durham, South Carolina, through Jan. 4
  • Charlotte, North Carolina, to Champaign-Urbana, Illinois, through April 5
  • Charlotte, North Carolina, to Toledo, Ohio, through April 5
  • Chicago to Charlottesville, Virginia, through April 5
  • Philadelphia to Baltimore, through April 5
  • Philadelphia to Charleston, West Virginia, through April 5
  • Philadelphia to Ottawa, Ontario, until April 5
  • Phoenix in Calgary, Alberta, until April 5
  • Phoenix in Vancouver, British Columbia, until April 5

Leave a Comment