New travel restrictions for the United States – NBC New York (47)

WASHINGTON DC – The United States begins implementing additional restrictions on all travelers arriving in the country by air on Monday, December 6, as part of the Joe Biden administration’s plan to combat the spread of COVID-19 and the “worrying” Omicron variant.

The measures involve modifying the COVID-19 tests that people entering the United States must present and expanding the use of masks.

Here we explain in detail so that you can be prepared if you have a trip to the United States planned in the days or weeks ahead.:


The main change that comes into effect this Monday is that anyone over the age of 2 who wants to travel to the United States must take a negative COVID-19 test one day before entering the North American country and show it to the airline before boarding the flight. .

Previously, travelers had to be tested within three days of travel.

“This stricter testing schedule provides an additional degree of protection as scientists continue to study the Omicron variant,” President Biden said in a speech Thursday.

In addition, the measure applies to all travelers, regardless of their vaccination status or nationality. Along with this, US citizens or residents returning to the country must also present this COVID-19 test.

However, the new rule does not apply to those entering the country through a border or seaport.

In the event that you have multiple connecting flights to arrive in the United States, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends that you get tested for COVID-19 one day before your first flight. . You can also try doing this on one of the login sites, but it can be difficult to access the tests.

If you test positive for COVID-19, the CDC says you should self-isolate and delay travel to the United States until you are cured.

And, are there any exceptions to submitting the COVID-19 test? Yes, but they are based on emergency moves that are usually to protect someone’s life, either for health reasons or immediate violence.

He says the measures imposed by the previous strain would work with the new one. To learn more about Telemundo, visit

To learn more about which COVID-19 tests the US accepts in each country, this US Department of State page has the details.


The use of masks, one of the most controversial travel restrictions, was extended this week.

Unveiling his plan to fight COVID-19 through the winter, Biden announced that the mask requirement on planes, trains and other public transportation has been extended through March 18.

“It’s to scare us,” said a man when asked for his opinion.

The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) announced in September that fines for those who fail to comply with mask regulations start at $500 and could go up to $3,000 for repeat offenders, according to a CNBC report.


At present, the entry ban, imposed at the end of November by the Ómicron variant, is still in force for travelers who have visited South Africa, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi and Eswatini for 14 days before traveling to the USA.

Citizens or residents of the United States who come from these countries can enter without problem.

However, epidemiologist Anthony Fauci commented this Sunday in an interview with CNN that the American government could review the restrictions imposed on travelers from these African countries in “a reasonable time”.

In addition, all foreign travelers must be vaccinated if they want to enter the United States, as it came into effect on November 8 when borders with Mexico and Canada were reopened and the bans imposed on travelers from 26 European states in the Schengen area have been lifted, in addition to the UK, Ireland, Brazil, China, Iran, South Africa and India.

Leave a Comment