Dutchman Dylan Van Baarle shows strength to win Paris-Roubaix | Txirindularitza

Van Baarle celebrates his victory at the Roubaix velodrome. (Thomas SAMSON | AFP)

The Dutchman Dylan Van Baarle (Ineos Grenadiers) offered a demonstration of strength and tactical sense on the cobblestones to proclaim himself the sole winner of the 119th edition of Paris-Roubaix disputed between Compiègne and Roubaix from a distance of 257.2 kilometers.

Van Baarle (Voorburg, 29), second in the recent Tour of Flanders, savored the most important victory of his professional career at the Roubaix velodrome, after a glorious solo breakaway, which allowed him to throw the arms around the sky to the champion.

Van Baarle couldn’t believe it, made up by the dust of the road. He crosses the finish line with his hands on his head. He won the classic of classics with a time of 5:37.01, with a large advantage of 1.46 minutes over a small chasing group led by the big favorite, the Belgian Wout Van Aert (Jumbo Visma), recovered from covid, but without strength in the key moments of the event.

The Swiss Stephan Kung (Groupama) closed the podium, one of the protagonists of the race with the previous ones, the Belgian Tom Devriendt (Intermarche), fourth, and the Slovenian Matej Mohoric (Bahrain Victorious), fifth.

Ineos’ work is starting to win

The other great reference, the Dutchman Mathieu Van der Poel (Alpecin Fenix), was not in the fight for the podium, unable to follow the decisive attacks far from the finish line. He settled for ninth place.

It is Van Baarle’s sixth victory in his professional career and the eighteenth of the season for his team. A team that had a fantastic week with the triumphs of Daniel Felipe Martìnez in Itzulia. Kwiatkowski at Amstel, Sheefield at Flecha Brabanzona and now the top prize at Paris Roubaix.

A Roubaix that fought from start to finish, with spectacular breakaways, blows from favourites, crashes, … many trials in a selective event with 30 cobblestone sectors and 53 km of stones in total which undermined the forces with each pedal stroke.

The high speed, after 45.7 km / hour, and the wind, gave Ineos the idea to provoke fans. Soon there was a serious cut at km 40 which put the two big favourites, Van der Poel and Van Aert, in trouble, perhaps confident because there was a world ahead of them.

The breakaway canceled, other movements followed, such as the one which left the Italian Filippo Ganna (Ineos) in the lead, who did not go far, or that of the Dutchman Niki Terpstra. Permanent and uncontrolled battles. Many have tried to take off from afar.

Slovenian Matej Mohoric (Bahrain), winner of Milan-San Remo, attacked 75 minutes from the end, taking Belgian Tom Devriendt (Intermarché) and Frenchman Laurent Pichon (Archea) behind the wheel. A movement that was to be decisive. An initiative full of aspirations which came to take 2 minutes ahead of the cobbled sector of Orchies on the chasing group, with heavyweights Van Aert and Van der Poel and contenders such as Stuyven, Senechal, Kung, Lampaert , Trentino and Van Baarle, the latter still able to take off to join Mohoric.

At 40 meters from the finish line, the emotion grows and events follow one another. Mohoric was dying in the breakaway and Van Aert in pursuit. Roubaix spares no one. The Slovenian decided to wait for the group of Van del Poel and Van Aert. The Belgian champion who joined the group before the Templeuve sector, where Devriendt was sailing alone.

Again the tireless Mohoric caused another cut, resuming his previous adventure. He joined Devriendt and Lampaert, and later Van Baarle joined, taking advantage of Van Aert and Van der Poel’s tagging, or perhaps seeing that neither of them had their best day.

Van Aert and Van der Poel eliminated

The winning stroke was forged on the cobbled section from Camphin to Pevele (1.8 km), where Van Baarle attacked with enormous force. opening gap with each pedal stroke. Mohoric’s party lost their wheel, and further back Van Aert burned the ships in pursuit with KUng.

Van Baarle against the world and in search of glory. At the Carrefour de L’Arbre (2.1 km), 5-star sector, the Dutchman was flying, oblivious to everything, gritting his teeth without looking back. He went through Gruson and Willems to Hem, the last big obstacles before the velodrome.

A whole world opened up in front of Van Baarle – one minute behind Mohoric and Lampaert and almost 2 behind Van Aert – who arrived happy at the mythical Roubaix velodrome. A delightful tour and a triumphal entry. A photo for history that justifies the trajectory of any professional.

Dylan Van Baarle succeeded Italian Sonny Colbrelli, winner in 2021, on the Paris-Roubaix record.

Ranking of Paris-Roubaix

1. Dylan van Baarle (Ineos), 5:37:01.

2. Wout van Aert (JUM) at 1:47.

3. Stefan Kung (GFJ) 1:47.

4. Tom Devriendt (INT) 1:47.

5. Matej Mohoric (BAH) 1:47.

6. Adrien Petit (INT) 2h27.

7. Jasper Stuyven (TRE) 2:27.

8. Laurent Pichon (ARK) 2h27.

9. Mathieu van der Poel (ALP) 2h34.

10. Yves Lampaert (TVQ) 2:59

Suspended due to bad weather the last stage of Turkey

New Zealander Patrick Bevin (Israel Premier Tech) was proclaimed winner of the Tour of Turkey by bike after the eighth and final stage, which had a 141.1 km course starting and finishing in Istanbul, was been suspended due to bad weather.

The day, which had been presented under the slogan “Respect for history and nature”, started next to the Atatürk Cultural Center but when they had barely traveled 25 kilometers, an accident occurred in Kuzguncuk because of the very slippery ground due to the rain.

The cyclists refused to continue the race and, after returning to the starting point at neutral speed, the organization decided to suspend the stage definitively.

As a result, the final classification of the Tour of Turkey will be the same as for the seventh and penultimate stage. Bevin was declared the winner with 20 seconds ahead of his compatriot Jay Vine (Alpecin-Fenix) and 40 over the Argentinian Eduardo Sepúlveda (Done Hopper-Androni Giocattoli), who had just given up the lead this Saturday.

Leave a Comment