Colombia will participate from this Thursday in the first valid UCI Nations Cup

This Thursday, April 21, another version of the 2022 UCI TISSOT Nations Cup will start in Glasgow (Scotland), valid until Sunday, April 24, with the participation of 384 cyclists who are part of the preliminary list, which must be confirmed by their federations or professional teams.

The first round of the 2022 UCI TISSOT Nations Cup will take place at the Sir Cris Hoy velodrome, which has a Siberian pine track 250 meters long and 7 meters wide. The velodrome is part of the Emirates Arena, a stage where sporting events of different disciplines and other events of general interest take place.

The first able-bodied in the 2022 UCI TISSOT Nations Cup will have official training from this Tuesday, on Wednesday the confirmation of registrations and the technical meeting will take place and on Thursday the competition begins.

On the first day of the competitions, 4 finals will be played; Men’s and women’s team pursuit and team sprint, also in both branches.

The organization of the Nations Cup in Glasgow has confirmed the presence of cyclists from 40 countries from 5 continents, in addition to 9 professional teams, with an initial number of registered 161 women and 263 men.

The federations that have registered their national teams, with the number of cyclists, are:
Germany 32 cyclists, Argentina 1, Australia 11, Austria 5, Barbados 1, Belgium 13, Canada 13, Costa Rica 1, Denmark 8, Slovenia 1, Spain 22, United States 8, France 25, Great Britain 33, Greece 5 , Guatemala 1, Hungary 8, India 5, Ireland 6, Israel 4, Italy 30, Jamaica 2, Japan 6, Kazakhstan 2, Laos 1, Malaysia 7, Nigeria 5, Norway 1, New Zealand 4, Netherlands 17, Poland 20, Portugal 5, Czech Republic 9, South Africa 6, Switzerland 12, Suriname 1, Trinidad and Tobago 3, Uzbekistan 11 and Venezuela 2.

For its part, the Colombian Cycling Federation has registered 10 of the best riders in the country, including:

Juan Esteban Arango, Martha Bayona, Kevin Quintero, Juliana Gaviria, Santiago Ramírez, Mariana Herrera, Julián Osorio, Lina Hernández, Cristian Ortega and Marianis Salazar.

In Glasgow (Scotland), cyclists of the stature of the Italian Filippo Ganna, double world champion against the clock, quadruple world champion on the track and Olympic champion, in addition to having won 6 stages of the Giro d’Italia, are part of the initial registration. Also part of this delegation is Elia Viviani, Olympic champion in the omnium in Rio and bronze in Tokyo, world champion in eliminations in Roubaix (France) 2021.

Tomas Babek from the Czech Republic, double medalist at the world championships in kilometer and Keirin, champion of the European games in Minsk and gold, silver and bronze medalist at the European championships in track cycling, as well as having was European Under-23 Champion in Poland.

Albert Torres from Spain, Madison world champion in Cali 2014, three silver and two bronze medals at the track world championships in Minsk, Saint Quentin, London, Hong Kong and Apeldoorn and 5 gold medals and 2 silver at the European Championships.

Rhys Britton, Briton from Team Wales, double European junior champion, quadruple national champion, European champion under 23 and bronze medalist at the world track cycling championships in Roubaix 2021.

Jack Carlin, also British, 10 medals in his international career. Silver and bronze at Tokyo 2020 in the team sprint and individual sprint, three silver medals at the World Championships, one at the European Games, three at the European Championships and one at the British Community Games. His delegation partner Sophie Capewell won the team sprint bronze at the 2021 Roubaix World Cup.

Trinidadian Nicholas Paul, silver in the kilometer at the 2021 Roubaix World Cup, Pan American gold in speed at the Lima 2019 Games, 6 medals at the Pan American Championships and the Central American Games (4 gold, 1 silver and 1 bronze). Three Nations Cup gold medals.
At the Pan-American Championships in Cochabamba (Bolivia) in 2019, he set 9 seconds 100 hundredths as the new world record for the 200 meters, lowering the 9.347 that the Frenchwoman Françoise Pervis had set in Aguascalientes (Mexico).

At the 2021 Nations Cup in Cali, Paul broke the 200-meter track record by stopping the stopwatches in 9 seconds 660 thousandths, surpassing the record that Frenchman Pervis also had in 9,742 achieved during the World Cup 2014 he had as headquarters the capital of the Cauca Valley.

Colombian Kevin Quintero is the holder of the national mark in the 200 meters with 9,362 achieved at the Panamerican in Cochabamba (Bolivia).

The German delegation includes cyclists Mieke Kroeger, Lisa Klein and Franziska Brausse, members of the quartet of pursuit teams, Olympic champion in Tokyo and who broke the world record three times.

All these personalities start the 2022 UCI TISSOT Nations Cup this Thursday, then they will pack their bags to go to Milton (Canada) in May, to disembark in July in Cali, the world capital of track cycling, which will open up a new times the doors. to the fans who have traditionally filled the stands of Colombia’s most famous sports arena.

Leave a Comment